Day 2, Prodigal Son …

It’s been a leisure Saturday morning and the string of gorgeous days continue here in Middle Tennessee. Reflecting this morning while walking around the yard, I thought about life over the last few years and how things have changed for me. It wasn’t where I pictured myself 20 years ago as the kids would be grown and moving on. Living alone with very few possessions at this time was the furthest thing from what I thought I wanted…

Although I have spoken badly of her to very few. (For the sake of my four beautiful children) The first 6 months to a year after the separation had me as fucked up as I could possibly be. I doubted myself , I questioned my actions, I wondered where I went wrong. How could I have fallen so deeply in love, for most of my life, with such a back stabbing bitch?.

That’s the time when I really threw myself back into the painting and artwork.. I turned off the TV and for awhile I chose to sit in the dark and silence. I cried, I broke things in anger…my sketches and paintings were a little twisted and dark…

“One of my Turns” 8×10 acrylic on canvas

one-of-my-turns-by-david-fultz

fb_img_1455928794337

Through it all  I started to turn my thoughts inward rather than blaming her and broke down every piece of it. In the silence I found myself.  What was my fault I began to own it. What was her fault I let go of it. I turned up the music and began to just BE, as I reclaimed who I was.  The 20 year old dreamer was still in there and over the last couple of years I have come to realize…

Completely happy IS where I thought I would be today!

So …MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!!

With that I give you day 2 of the music video challenge as tagged by Rhapsody Boheme …Lincoln Durham …I have returned like “The Prodigal Son”

4 thoughts on “Day 2, Prodigal Son …

  1. I like what you said here about owning up to your actions and letting go. Those two things are vital to a person’s freedom from the past.

    And I’m so glad your mission to be happy was accomplished anyway. Great art!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is bittersweet and I feel your words. And like we said before life always goes on, not to dismiss the pain not being a big deal but because it often molds us into who we are ultimately meant to be.
    Great song choice my friend. But even more, way to fight the storm and come back an even better version of yourself. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

