Inspiration is …

Wherever you find it.

A look inside the mind of an artist and how the thought process goes. This is how new work begins before the last one ends

I ran across a picture today that changed the course of my thought process the rest of the day… Being off today and nothing but creative time planned, I was free to do that. I love days like that where the mind is allowed to be inspired and follow the course of wherever that leads it…

photoenigmatic-evelina-pentcheva-orange-country-best-portrait-photographer-fine-art-photography-photo-2

Crazy as it sounds. I looked up and reread little red riding hood…both by Grimm and Charles Perrault

I sent this pic to my friend and model..with a message, I want to do some of this experimenting with my camera. #allthebigbadwolveswanttoeatyou
I remembered a song by Sam the Sham and the Pharoahs…
I texted the youtube video to a friend with a rockband saying I could hear you remaking this…Awesome lyrics. I thought Jace Everett had but I couldn’t find it if he did.
I listened to some Jace Everett in the process … just because he’s cool…
 I began to study the meaning behind the fairy tale of riding hood and its sexual undertones and symbolism. As well as just a general warning of being leary of strangers. I copied this text about the meaning of the forest in literature.

The Meaning of the Forest (source: https://owlcation.com/misc/red_riding_hood)

Lost in the woods?

In many fairy tales the main character (the protagonist) must go in the forest. It seems trees are an endless source of inspiration in folklore. There are many speculations why the forest is so important but we can also stick to the obvious: most of the people in medieval or pre-medieval times lived near forests.

People’s existence was closely related to wood from practically forever, but forests also represent unknown, although very serious, danger.

In psychoanalysis a forest symbolizes unconsciousness. Leonard Lutwack goes even further and he labels it as untamed feminine sexuality. Why? The forest is a very fertile place, but it is also wild, uncultivated, and unpredictable.

It is not a coincidence so many popular heroes and heroines (Red Cap, Snow White, Hansel and Gretel, Goldilocks) must get lost in the woods just to come back as more responsible (and we can say domesticated) persons.

The transformation role of the forest is obvious.

Even if the main character doesn’t enter the woods, something important can happen there (for instance: the name of Rumpelstiltskin is hidden in the woods and the Goose Girl lost her identity in the forest and in some cases forest represents the enemy itself (remember Sleeping Beauty and her rescuers?).

I took a walk through the woods in my head… to places I have visited that would make the right backdrop and are local.

I laid out mental scenes and looked for costume.

At the end of the day. I never got any painting done and now I’m heading out for the evening..  But that’s ok too. I spent the day inspired and set up some future work .

Life is good 🙂

Do you get sidetracked like that too when inspiration hits  ?

3 thoughts on “Inspiration is …

Leave a Reply

